COLLEGE STATION, Texas – After turning heads during an impressive rookie campaign, Texas A&M sophomore center Tyler Davis was recognized by media that covers the league with a spot on the Preseason All-SEC First Team.

Meanwhile in the team preseason poll, prognosticators slotted the Aggies third behind Kentucky and Florida. A year ago, Texas A&M was also predicted to finish third in the league but ended the year with a school-record 28 victories and shared the SEC regular season championship with Kentucky before advancing to the NCAA Sweet 16.

Following the Aggies in order on the list were Georgia, Arkansas, Vanderbilt, Alabama, South Carolina, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Auburn, LSU, Tennessee and Missouri.

Points were compiled on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team. Ties were not broken.

Davis played a prominent role in the Aggies’ success as a freshman a year ago, standing out as one of the SEC's top big men. The Plano, Texas, native averaged 11.3 points and 6.2 rebounds per contest while shooting 65.5 percent from the floor and pacing the team with 41 blocked shots. Along with teammate DJ Hogg, Davis garnered SEC All-Freshman honors at the conclusion of the season.

The Aggies will celebrate the opening of the new campaign when they host Maroon Madness at Reed Arena on Oct. 27 before making their final tune-up for the season during a home exhibition against St. Edwards on Nov. 4. The season officially gets underway on Nov. 11 when Texas A&M welcomes Northwestern State to Aggieland.


First Team All-SEC

Moses Kingsley – Arkansas, F, 6-10, 230, Sr., Abuja, Nigeria

J.J. Frazier – Georgia, G, 5-10, 155, Sr., Glennville, Ga.

Edrice “Bam” Adebayo – Kentucky, F, 6-10, 260, Fr., Little Washington, N.C.

De’Aaron Fox – Kentucky, G, 6-3, 187, Fr., Houston, Texas

Tyler Davis – Texas A&M, C, 6-10, 270, So., Plano, Texas

Second Team All-SEC

KeVaughn Allen – Florida, G, 6-2, 183, So., Little Rock, Ark.

Yante Maten – Georgia, F, 6-8, 240, Jr., Pontiac, Mich.

Isaiah Briscoe – Kentucky, G, 6-3, 210, So., Newark, N.J.

Malik Monk – Kentucky, G, 6-3, 200, Fr., Lepanto, Ark.

Antonio Blakeney – LSU, G, 6-4, 190, So., Sarasota, Fla.

Quinndary Weatherspoon – Mississippi State, G, 6-4, 202, So., Canton, Miss.

Luke Kornet – Vanderbilt, F, 7-1, 250, Sr., Lantana, Texas

SEC Player of the Year: Moses Kingsley, Arkansas


1. Kentucky

2. Florida

3. Texas A&M

4. Georgia

5. Arkansas

6. Vanderbilt

7. Alabama

8. South Carolina

9. Ole Miss

10. Mississippi State

11. Auburn

12. LSU

13. Tennessee

14. Missouri