PHILADELPHIA, Pa. — Texas A&M junior defensive end Myles Garrett was named a finalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award, which is presented annually to the college defensive player of the year by the Maxwell Football Club.

As a finalist, Garrett, from Martin High School in Arlington, Texas, has been invited to ESPN’s Home Depot College Football Awards Show, which will originate from the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Ga., on Dec. 8.

2016 Chuck Bednarik Finalists





Jonathan Allen


Defensive Line


Myles Garrett

Texas A&M

Defensive Line


Jabrill Peppers




A 2016 midseason All-American, Garrett ranks among the nation’s leaders with 8.5 QB sacks and 14.0 tackles for loss despite missing two full games due to an injury suffered against Arkansas on Sept. 24. Last week Garrett flirted with the Aggies’ single season record for QB sacks with 4.5 against UTSA. In the process, Garrett became the eighth player in SEC history to reach the 30-sack plateau in career sacks. With his next sack, Garrett would move into the career QB sacks top five in both SEC and Texas A&M history.

Last season, the Chuck Bednarik Award was presented to Temple linebacker Tyler Matakevich, who now plays for the Pittsburgh Steelers in the NFL. The winner of 22nd Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 8, 2016. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Gala which will be held at the Tropicana Casino Resort in Atlantic City, NJ on Friday March 10, 2017.

Voting will begin on Wednesday, November 21st and close on Sunday December 4th. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.