Breaking News
More () »

Alexander County Schools reverses course, requires masks on campus effective Sept. 1

The decision during an emergency meeting on Aug. 31 is a reversal from a previous mask-optional vote earlier in the month.
Credit: Halfpoint - stock.adobe.com

ALEXANDER COUNTY, N.C. — Masks will soon be required on campus for Alexander County Schools.

During a special-called meeting on Aug. 31, the Board of Education voted 4-2 to require masks inside schools. Previously, the board had chosen during a meeting on Aug. 2 to make masks optional indoors but still required them on buses under federal law. The indoor mask requirement takes effect Wednesday, Sept. 1.

A spokesperson for the district told WCNC Charlotte 585 students were under COVID-19 quarantine protocols, about 13% of the district's 4,425 students.

LIST: K-12 schools in Charlotte-area districts mask, vaccine and remote learning decisions

The decision by Alexander County school leaders means only five North Carolina districts in the Charlotte metro area have mask-optional policies as of writing:

  • Idredell-Statesville Schools
  • Catawba County Schools
  • Avery County Schools
  • Union County Public Schools
  • Newton-Conover City Schools

Four of the five districts listed above have board meetings scheduled for the evening of Tuesday, Aug. 31.

For the latest breaking news, weather and traffic alerts, download the WCNC Charlotte mobile app.