Breaking News
More () »

UPDATE: Place-4 College Station City Council runoff election scheduled for Nov. 3 general election date if earlier date not available

The City of College Station held a special election for City Council Place-4.

COLLEGE STATION, Texas — UPDATE: March 31, 2020

College Station City Council has approved moving the Place-4 City Council runoff election to the Nov. 3 general election date if an earlier date is not available. 

UPDATE: March 24, 2020

 College Station City Council has announced that in light of the shelter-in-place order. the City of College Station is delaying the April 18 runoff election that will fill Place-4 on the City Council. 

Details will be forthcoming as city staff continues to work closely with both the county and state election offices, according to City Secretary Tanya Smith. 

“At this point, we don’t yet know what mechanism will be required to set a new runoff election date, but we are communicating with each candidate to ensure they're aware of this ongoing process," said Smith.

As a reminder, results from a four-candidate Jan. 28 special election resulted in Elizabeth Cunha and Joe Guerra, Jr. advancing to a runoff election.

Early voting was set to begin April 1.

The unexpired term for Place-4 runs through November 2021, at which point the seat will be on the ballot for a full three-year term. The seat was vacated last fall when Councilwoman Elianor Vessali resigned to seek the Republican nomination for the U.S. Congressional Dist. 17 seat.

Previous story from Jan. 28, 2020.

The City of College Station has released the results for the Place-4 special election.

Special election results for CS Council, Pl. 4 Early voting + Election Day: 

  • Morales: 108 (4.71%) 
  • Fujimoto: 322 (14.04%)
  •  Cunha: 732 (31.91%) 
  • Guerra: 1132 (49.35%)

There are still 100 mail ballots out that must be postmarked by today's date and received by 5 p.m. Wednesday. 11 military ballots were sent out and must be received by Monday at 5 p.m. 

All qualified ballots will be counted Feb. 4 and added to Tuesday's total. 

If the totals from Feb. 4 do not prove an outright winner with 50% plus one vote, then Apr. 18 runoff election will occur between Cunha and Guerra.

Early voting results:

  • Marycruz DeLeón Morales: 40 (3.23%)
  • David Fujimoto: 126 (10.19%)
  • Elizabeth Cunha: 414 (33.47%)
  • Joe Guerra, Jr.: 657 (53.11%)

The Place 4 special election was announced when councilwoman Elianor Vessali resigned her seat to campaign for the U.S. Congressional District 17 seat in November of last year.

Now, Marycruz DeLeon Morales, Joe Guerra Jr., David Fujimoto and Elizabeth Cunha are all looking to take Vessali's seat. 

RELATED: College Station City Council special election ends tonight

RELATED: City of College Station holds Council Place 4 candidate forum

RELATED: Bryan ISD hopes to bring improvements to school district with bond election this May

Before You Leave, Check This Out