COLLEGE STATION, Texas — The Texas A&M University System elected its first Hispanic chairperson, Friday. Elaine Mendoza '87, the former vice-chair, was elected chair of the board in a meeting of the Board of Regents. 

Mendoza is the second woman to serve in this role. She is succeeding former Board of Regents Chairman Charles W. Schwartz. 

“Elaine Mendoza is a distinguished alumna of Texas A&M whose professional achievements in science and healthcare, as well as her service to her community, truly embody what it means to be an Aggie,” said Governor Greg Abbott in a statement released by the Texas A&M System. “I extend my congratulations to Elaine, applaud the Board of Regents on their decision, and I look forward to continuing to work together to take Texas’ higher education system to even greater heights.” 

In a telephonic meeting, Friday, the board also welcomed new regents, recently confirmed by the Texas Senate: Jay Graham, Mike Hernandez, and Michael J Plank.