COLLEGE STATION, Texas — Texas A&M's Ryan McCollum has been named to the 2019 Rimington Trophy Watch List, announced Friday by the Rimington Trophy Committee.
McCollum, a junior from Spring, Texas, has appeared in 25 games over the past two season including 14 starts. Last year, McCollum was a part of the offensive line that helped Trayveon Williams lead the SEC in rushing and saw the Aggies eclipse the 2,800 rushing yardage mark for the first time since the 2012 season.
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football. Since its inception, the seventeen-year old award has raised over $4.2 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.
Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only two-time winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit
Texas A&M opens 2019 against Texas State on August 29 at Kyle Field, a Thursday night contest set to be broadcast on SEC Network.