BIRMINGHAM – SEC Athlete of the Year honors were announced by the conference office and Texas A&M junior Lindon Victor was named men’s Field Athlete of the Year in voting by the coaches.

Victor broke the SEC Championship meet record in winning the decathlon with 8,446 points as he set nine career outdoor best marks among the 10 events contested. In the process he defeated Georgia’s Maicel Uibo, the two-time defending NCAA champion and three-time defending SEC champion, who held the previous meet record of 8,326 set in 2015.

The 8,446 points by Victor ranks fourth on the all-time collegiate list. The three scores that rank ahead of him include 8,465 by Trey Hardee of Texas, 8,463 by Tennessee’s Tom Pappas and 8,457 by Ashton Eaton of Oregon. The score by Victor improved his previous best tally by 993 points.

In claiming the SEC title, Victor became the first Aggie conference decathlon champion since 1995 when Richard Harrison won a second Big 12 title. Victor broke the Texas A&M record of 7,931 set by Ricky Barker at the 1991 U.S. Olympic Festival in Los Angeles.

Victor also broke the national record for Grenada, topping the score of 8,320 set by his brother, Kurt Felix, at the 2015 IAAF World Championships.

As the collegiate leader in the decathlon, Victor’s score equals second on the 2016 world list. He also surpassed the qualifying standard of 8,100 to compete at the Rio Olympics this summer.

In its fourth season competing in the SEC, Texas A&M has produced nine conference Athlete of the Year honors during the outdoor campaign.

Previous SEC Outdoor honors were awarded to Deon Lendore (Runner of the Year, 2014 & 2015), Olivia Ekponé (Runner of the Year 2014), Shelbi Vaughan (Field Athlete of the Year 2014), Ioannis Kyriazis (Freshman Field Athlete of the Year 2015), Shamier Little (Freshman Runner of the Year 2014), Jennifer Madu (Freshman Runner of the Year 2013) and LaQue Moen-Davis (Freshman Field Athlete of the Year 2013).

2016 SEC Outdoor Track and Field Awards

Men’s Runner of the Year - Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, LSU

Men’s Field Athlete of the Year - Lindon Victor, Texas A&M

Men’s Freshman Runner of the Year - Kahmari Montgomery, Missouri

Men’s Co-Freshman Field Athletes of the Year - Anders Eriksson, Florida/Daniel Haugh, Alabama

Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Jarrion Lawson, Arkansas

Men’s Coach of the Year - Chris Bucknam, Arkansas

Women’s Co-Runners of the Year - Felicia Brown, Tennessee/Dominique Scott-Efurd, Arkansas

Women’s Field Athlete of the Year - Keturah Orji, Georgia

Women’s Freshman Runner of the Year - Jasmine Camacho-Quinn, Kentucky

Women’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year - Lexi Weeks, Arkansas

Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Keturah Orji, Georgia

Women’s Coach of the Year - Lance Harter, Arkansas

Aggie Karis Jochen earns second CoSIDA Academic All-District honor

Selections for the CoSIDA Academic All-District honors were announced recently for the 2015-16 women’s track and field/cross country team and Texas A&M junior Karis Jochen received the honor for the second consecutive year.

Jochen was one of 10 athletes selected in District 7, which included Sophie Connor and Alice White of New Mexico, Oklahoma State’s Ingeborg Loevnes, Catherine Cloetta of Wyoming, Susie Kemper of North Texas, Kansas State’s Dani Winters, Abilene Christian’s Alexandria Hackett, Colorado’s Kaitlyn Benner and Belle MacFarlane of Rice.

District 7 includes schools from the following states: Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and Wyoming.

Texas A&M men remain No. 1, women No. 5 in updated USTFCCCA national rankings

For the eighth consecutive week the Texas A&M men remain locked into the No. 1 position in the USTFCCCA national team computer rankings while the Aggie women are ranked No. 5 for the second consecutive week.

SEC teams occupy eight of the top 11 men’s ranking positions and eight of the top 12 women’s places heading into the NCAA Championship weekend, which will be held June 8-11 at Hayward Field in Eugene.

Following the Texas A&M men among the top 15 teams are Florida, Oregon, LSU, Arkansas, Georgia, Virginia Tech, Tennessee, Missouri, Texas Tech, Alabama, Houston, Washington, UCLA, and Virginia.

Arkansas leads the women’s rankings followed by Kentucky, Texas, LSU, Texas A&M, Oregon, USC, Stanford, Florida, Tennessee, Georgia, Mississippi State, Harvard, Miami, and Kansas State.